Nothing I Can Do About it Now

November 1, 2007

Pronounced Fla-Trion

Filed under: Uncategorized — dregina @ 12:50 pm

Not that we did it on purpose this way or anything, but isn’t it appropriate that Cristan and I chose the scariest day of the whole year to move in together?

Committment, Bwa-ha-ha-ha-ha! 

This thought occurred to me as I staggered out his front door carrying the 10th million box full of plungers and coat hangers and Important Pieces of Paper and just Crap, Crap, Crap,  the unavoidable accouterments of  American life. How is it that moving hasn’t been made an official form of material penance, like a hair shirt, or a cilice? Two weeks of picking up every single thing I own just so I can put it down somewhere else and I’m ready for a monk’s life, with just one robe and a wooden bowl. But then I see something shiny for sale, and the US economy keeps on trucking. You’re welcome, Alan Greenspan Ben Bernanke!

Our friend Tim, who is both a saint and a preternaturally strong man, helped us, and told me one of the best NY stories I’ve ever heard while he was at it.

Tim: For the first three months I lived in New York, I thought the Flat Iron Building, was called the Flatrion Building.  Whenever Seamus and I would talk about our favorite New York buildings, I would say I loved the Flatrion building, and then Seamus would say he needed to see it. Then one day we were walking right on that block, so I pointed it out, and Seamus said, “Tim! That’s the Flat Iron Building!” and I said, “Flat Iron! That makes no sense.” But then he explained it to me, and it made a lot of sense.

Cristian: Tim, you never told me that story before! That’s a great story! 

Tim: Really?

Dana: Maybe we finally find a house we like for rent, we’ll call it the Flatrion.  It has a nice ring to it.

Tim: Well, it certainly sounds better than Flat Iron. Who wants to live in a Flat Iron?

1 Comment »

  1. Congratulations! Happy Nablopomo by the way. I’m new at it.
    OK so moving in. I moved in 3.5 yrs ago and I still won’t throw out the broken-down boxes. But it’s been really good. I just can’t throw them out. Might be an idea for a post if I get really brave.

    Comment by ryssee — November 1, 2007 @ 6:29 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

