Nothing I Can Do About it Now

November 29, 2007

I THOUGHT IT WAS A CUP!!!!!

Filed under: Uncategorized — dregina @ 3:57 pm

Everything I am about to say is something you already know.

 Moving has been stressful. We’re paying double rent on the new house and my old apartment this month, on top of a big dentist bill and a refrigerator purchase, so money is tight. While it seems like having a whole month to move would reduce stress and pressure, there’s really not much positive about trying to live in two places at once. The new yard needs work and has got some big bald spots. It’s been raining. The dog, therefore, has tracked a metric ton of mud all over the tile.  At least it’s tile, right? We’ve been painting and painting and painting and painting every room in the house, and yet none of them are finished.  1/2 our packages are being sent to one post office for pick-up, and the other 1/2 are going to a different post office. Twice the driving, two times the lines!  I could go on. Every conversation Cristian and I have had for the past three weeks has sounded like:

“We need to do this. But before we do this, we have to do that. But before we can do that, we have to do this other thing. We have to buy that stuff before we can do the other thing. Do we have the money to buy that stuff? Oh, shit, don’t forget about the other other thing we have to do. I went to that place to buy that thing yesterday, but they were sold out, so one of us is going to have to go back.”

Fun fun fun. 

Cristian’s workload is always quite high. His schedule is demanding and inflexible.  It ramps up into an overdrive mode every semester, at the end of the semester. It’s the end of the semester, we’re moving, and Cristian is working until 8 several nights every week.

Neither one of us scheduled any time off work, because this was a “local” move and we have a month, so how hard could it be?

Be ye not so foolish. Moving without taking time off work is stupid, and bad for your personality. 

This morning, Cristian was driving my car with me in it towards his work, while I tried to stuff my craw with enough food to tide me over until lunch. We were about 95% of the way there when out from under the car came a nightmarish, horrifying, heart-rending noise. It sounded like a 20 pound barbell bouncing off the road, against the underbelly of the car, over and over and over again. A smashing, grinding, metallic collision.

“JESUS FUCKING CHRIST!” I yelled.  “WHAT DID YOU JUST DO TO MY CAR?!”

“I THOUGHT IT WAS A CUP! I THOUGHT IT WAS A CUP!” Cristian yelled back.

Many hours later, with the car seemingly intact, this strikes me as fucking hilarious.

This too shall pass, right?

(I think it was a plumber’s wrench.)

1 Comment »

  1. I. Can. Relate.

    Comment by Joy — November 29, 2007 @ 5:16 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

