Nothing I Can Do About it Now

February 15, 2008

In retrospect, I may have overreacted

Filed under: Uncategorized — dregina @ 2:24 pm

Scene: A dark bedroom. A clock on the bedstand reads 3:30 am. Two people lay insensate beneath a cozy duvet. A cat sleeps at the foot of the bed. All is quiet.

From stage left, a dog bays: BAROOOOOOOOOOOO! BAROOOOOOOOOOOOO! BAROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 

Dana: sits bolt upright, eyes wide: Oh my God, was that FLUPPY?

Cristian: uhhhhhhhh

Dana: Cristian OH MY GOD did you just hear that?!

Cristian: ughhhhhh……

Dana: Fluppy! Fluppy! Come here, girl! Cristian, do you think she’s ok? I’ve never heard her make a noise even anything close to that.

Cristian: pulls pillow over head She bayed in her sleep.

Dana: But she’s never done that before. Maybe she’s hurt. Maybe she was chasing the cat! Fluppy! Come!

Cristian: The cat’s right here.

Said cat has wound herself around Cristian’s head.

Fluppy pads into the room, looking confused.

Dana: pets dog vigorously Fluppy, what happened? Are you ok?  Cristian, I’m going to turn the light on for a second, just to make sure she’s not hurt.

Cristian: Ohhhhh, it was just a dream. She’s fine. TURN OFF THE LIGHT.

Dana: Well, then, why isn’t she wagging her tail? I’m petting her and she’s NOT EVEN wagging her tail, that’s just not normal.

Cristian: pulls pillow futher over his head, mutters something inaudible

Dana: What? What did you just say?

Cristian: I said, I can’t believe I’m having a conversation about why Fluppy isn’t wagging her tail. It’s 3 in the morning.

Dana: She’s still not wagging her tail. Fluppy, do you want a treat? See, look at that, she’s not even wagging her tail when I talk about treats. Something is up.

Cristian: Maybe she’s TIRED.

Dana: It’s almost as if you don’t want to talk about this right now.

Cristian: It’s exactly like that. It’s just exactly like that.

Dana: I don’t think I can just fall back asleep without knowing what happened. I’m all keyed up.

Cristian: ………………………..

Dana: I mean, don’t you want to know why Fluppy is baying like the Hound of the Baskervilles? Doesn’t that seem strange to you?

Cristian:……………………………..

Dana: Ok, I’m going to go give Fluppy a treat and see if she’ll wag her tail then.

Cristian:…………………………………………..

Dana gets up, exits stage left with the dog.

A minute passes

Dana reenters stage left 

Dana: Good news. She wagged her tail a little bit when I gave her a treat. Not like normal, but I think she’s just tired and confused. I think she’ll be fine.

Cristian: Great. Great news.

Dana: getting back into bed But can you believe what a crazy noise that was? It sounded like a Hell Hound.

Cristian: mmmmmmmm

Dana: snuggling down under the covers And she’s never made a noise like that before…..

Cristian: Shhhhhhhhh

Stage right: The neighbor’s rooster begins to crow. Loudly.

2 Comments »

  1. LOL!!!

    You have totally, totally made my day!

    Comment by missyann — February 15, 2008 @ 3:51 pm

  2. I love it when dogs bark/baroo in their sleep!

    Poor you, having roosters nearby. Brendan loves to brag about moving to Corpus and having roosters live next door. Like it was so hard-core South Texas. Those damn things are obnoxious.

    Comment by Joy — February 15, 2008 @ 4:02 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

